There is nothing to show here!
Slider with alias scc-final-result not found.

Silverstein Clarinet Contest








Letter from Silverstein

Dear Judges and Contestants of 2023 Silverstein Clarinet Contest,

It is with great pleasure to announce the winners of the 5th Annual Silverstein Clarinet Contest.

The judges and myself are thrilled to say that this was another great year filled with a vibrant spectrum of musicality, individuality, and passion. This diversity is especially important to us because diversity is a key component to what makes this event unique by nature.

Underneath the layer of its competition format, at core, Silverstein Clarinet Contest is about showcasing the hearts of musicians that could otherwise go unnoticed. There can be a number of reasons why a young clarinetist may feel un-welcomed or uninspired to follow their dreams, but as we know, music has no boundaries or prejudice. Music is universal. This is why we firmly believe in welcoming anyone from anywhere to participate - it is entirely free and virtual from start to the end.

This year we had contestants joining from 25 countries around the world, and 55 judges that kindly lend us their ears. We had the most ethnically diverse number winners than ever before. We experimented a single round format this year, but next year, we will be going back to the 2-round format as we did before.

I'd like to thank the judges for their generous contribution of their knowledge and time, and for their selflessness for the world of clarinet. Year after year, we are truly grateful for their commitment. We call our judges the “hosts” of the contest because they have the most leading role in this entire vision and process, and its an honor every year.

Lastly I would to thank and congratulate each and every one of the contestants, and express my admiration for their courage and passion. Your music inspired us all and gave us great hope for what’s to come ahead in the world of clarinet music. I wish you all the best in your journey to create music that is uniquely yours but for everyone to cherish.


Calvin Son/ President


Click winner's profile photo to see video.

GRAND PRIZE - Christopher Dechant

SECOND PLACE - Matěj Kotal

3rd Place - Rafael Esparrell

Honorable Mention - Yile Lu

Honorable Mention - Jazmin Szurcsik

GRAND PRIZE - Milosz Szczotka

2nd Place - Lluís Chorvà Montesinos

3rd Place - Felix Brucklacher

Honorable mention: Anju Aoto

Honorable mention: Alexnandros Vlachos

Shining Talent Award: Rapolas Bartulis

Shining Talent Award: Grzegorz Tobis

Shining Talent Award: Marta Kania

Shining Talent Award: Manaka Taniguchi

Shining Talent Award: Jan-Lukas Willms